Masala Egg White Omelette

I don’t know what makes me happier…when things go exactly as planned, or when experiments turn out way better than you expect.

20130519-204933.jpg

Tonight for dinner, I felt like having an omelette, but wanted to try something different. After clicking through several pages of Google results, I came across this recipe. I was immediately very excited at the idea…I LOVE Indian food. But after taking a look at the ingredients I thought two things: 1) I don’t have half that stuff, and 2) Damn! Ain’t nobody got time fo’ that!

So, here’s my HIGHLY simplified and completely flavorful version…

Masala Egg White Omelette(serves one)

1 Tbsp oil
1/4 C grated carrot
1/8 C diced onion
1 tsp garam masala
Salt and pepper to taste
4 egg whites

1. In a medium non-stick frypan, heat the oil
2. Sauté the carrot and onion until the onion becomes translucent
3. Sprinkle the onion and carrots with the masala and the salt and pepper, sauté a few seconds more to aromatize the spices
4. Pour the egg whites over the carrot mixture, and cook as you would any omelette

I hope you enjoy! I have a feeling this is going to be my new go-to omelette!

One thought on “Masala Egg White Omelette

Leave a Reply

