How do you like them apples?

I bet a lot of people would name ‘The Apple’ as being the most boring, commonplace fruit there is. I used to be one of them. Couldn’t be further from the truth.

One of my favorite things to do is go apple shopping at my local grocery. I usually get 2 or 3 of about 5 different varieties at a time. Yesterday I picked up some Red Delicious, Smitten (a new fave!), Royal Gala, Jazz, and Fuji. And don’t even get me started on how excited I get when I discover a new variety that I didn’t even know existed. Yes, dancing and clapping of hands is sometimes involved.

Opening my lunch bag every day is an event, because I never know what juicy, sweet, crispy little gem is waiting for me.

Here are (I think) all of the varieties I have tried thus far: (* denotes a fave!)

(See this website for some pics and descriptions of apple varieties)

Ambrosia
Braeburn*
Cameo
Cortland
Empire
Fuji*
Gala*
Golden Delicious*
Granny Smith
HoneyCrisp*
Ida Red
Jazz*
Jonagold*
Junami*
Kiku
Lady Alice*
McIntosh
Mutsu (Crispin)*
Opal*
Orin
Pacific Rose
Paula Red
Pinova (Piñata)*
Pink Lady (Cripps Pink)*
Red Delicious*
Red Prince*
Smitten*
Sonya
Spartan
Tentation
Winesap

What’s your favorite apple?

20130519-234833.jpg

Leave a Reply

