Not-so-old-fashioned baked doughnuts

Went toy shopping at Bed, Bath, and Beyond with my handy-dandy 20% off coupon, and got me a DOUGHNUT PAN! I’ve only been thinking about getting one for about six months now…been weighing the pros and cons.

Pros: it’s fun, it’s cool, I can make all the doughnut recipes I see on Pinterest.
Cons: more reasons to eat doughnuts

The recipe for the basic cake doughnut is printed on the packaging for the pan, and surprisingly, it’s not an unbelievably unhealthy one! But you know me…when have I ever not made a modification?

Here’s what I did…

Preheat overnight to 425F
Spray doughnut pan with nonstick spray

1/2 cup of cake flour
1/2 cup of whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup nonfat greek yogurt
1/3 cup milk (I used unsweetened soy)
1 egg
1 Tbsp oil (I used walnut)
Splash of vanilla
3 Tbsp sugar (I used Sucanat)

1. Sift together the dry ingredients (first 5)
2. Whisk together the wet ingredients and the sugar
3. Combine the wet and dry (if you find the batter too thick add a bit more milk…should be the consistency of regular cake batter)
4. Pour batter into a pastry bag or a ziplock bag that you can cut the corner out of (this makes loading up the doughnut cavity a LOT easier) and fill each cavity 2/3 full
5. Bake for 7-9 mins until they spring back when touched (like cupcakes)
6. Cool in the pan for 5 mins and then transfer to a wire rack.

MAKES 6 FULL SIZED DOUGHNUTS

20130310-182143.jpg

Leave a Reply

