Experiments Gone Right: Lentil Hummus and Smoky & Sweet Vegan Chili

I just thought I’d quickly post a couple of kitchen experiments that ended up exceeding my expectations this week: Lentil Hummus and something I am calling Smoky & Sweet Vegan Chili.
Both of these recipes accomplish one of my new goals – incorporating more beans and legumes into my diet. Also, I had a package of smoked tempeh that I bought a couple of weeks ago when I went on a tempeh shopping spree at Whole Foods, and realized that it needed to get used up before October 2nd!
Sorry for the lack of photos on this post, but I was skeptical about the outcome when I started the “experiments”. (I have been burned before…ha!) But after having both of these come out so well, I will no longer doubt my culinary skills, and take pictures just in case.

Lentil Hummus
14 oz can of cooked green lentils (I used Eden Organic) mostly drained
2 Tbsp tahini
Heaping Tbsp of minced garlic (more or less…you decide)
1/2 tsp cumin
Salt and pepper to taste (I used a lot of pepper…because I like pepper!)

Dump it all in a food processor and purée until super smooth. Eat. (It was particularly good with cauliflower actually!)

Smoky & Sweet Vegan Chili (serves 6)
2 Tbsp olive oil
1 small onion, chopped
1 Tbsp minced garlic
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 container of crimini mushrooms, sliced
1 package of smoked tempeh, diced
14 oz can diced fire-roasted tomatoes
14 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
14 oz can red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
14 oz can cooked sweet potato or yam
28 oz can tomato sauce
2 Tbsp chili powder (more or less by preference)
1 Tbsp cumin (more or less by preference)
1 tsp cinnamon
Salt and pepper to taste

In a Dutch-oven or large pot, sauté onions and garlic in olive oil, add red pepper, mushrooms.
Add tempeh and brown a bit.
Add fire-roasted tomatoes and stir to deglaze the pot.
Add both beans and the sweet potato.
Add as much tomato sauce as you feel you need to get the consistency you want.
Throw in the spices and seasonings and stir. Allow to simmer for a bit to heat through before you taste it to decide if you want to add any more spices/seasonings.
You don’t need to allow it to cook for any amount of time really – everything in it is already cooked. But letting it simmer for a bit, stirring occasionally will help the flavors meld a bit.

Happy Fall everyone! Warm sun + cool air = happy me.

2 thoughts on “Experiments Gone Right: Lentil Hummus and Smoky & Sweet Vegan Chili

Leave a Reply

